When I was a kid, I remember writing a New Year’s Resolution to keep my room so tidy that it “looked like no-one lived there”.  I was obviously craving the space that our small living accommodation didn’t offer.  That and the fact that everywhere else in the house was, shall we say, full to the brim.  My parents were never going to appear on “Hoarding: Buried Alive” but they had too much stuff for the size of the living space, plus a basement full of tools, wannabe antiques and just-in-case items.  My New Year’s Resolution didn’t last long but the memory of it did.

Nevertheless, it wasn’t until 2013 when I was browsing the Kindle book store that minimalist living became part of my life.  Francine Jay’s book, the Joy of Less, inspired me to take an alternative look at my surroundings and kick-started an exploration of simple living and minimalism.

I’m still exploring and haven’t quite made the in roads into living with less in every aspect of my life.  I know that there have been changes in my mind set: I am more patient with others, I don’t buy items that I don’t need (most of the time 🙂 ), and I am, what my husband would call “more ruthless” when it comes to getting rid of items that are no longer wanted.  So if asked, I wouldn’t say I was a minimalist, rather one in the making, and how that will shape my future is yet to be determined.

 

Ear worm: All My Life, Foo Fighters

