Along with my goal to fit in four gym sessions per week, I have three other health related goals, two of which I am sharing in today’s post.

Firstly, I am aiming to drink 2 litres of water a day.  That relates to the 8 glasses that you may have heard is the holy grail or something of water drinking.  Anyway, I am failing miserably.

If the target was 1.6 litres I’d  be walking it but two?  Not so much.  Since the beginning of the year, I have only managed it three times.  That last glass and a half seems to elude me.

Why so bothered?  Well I have noticed in the past that when I drink more water I feel brighter and I get more out of my workouts.  It makes sense to use that to my advantage.

Next goal: to get 7 hours of sleep every night.

I set my alarm for 6 am on a work day so you’d think that lights off by around 10:45 would be about right.  So it gets to that time and the thoughts are “just one more blog post”, “one more chapter”, “this page and I’ll stop reading”.  You know the script.  Next thing is it’s half eleven and I’m trying to function on 6 hours sleep.

For some, that’s enough but I just know that I feel better on at least seven hours.  Seven and a half is probably my limit though.

Reading this, you’re either in the camp of “yay, I’m not the only one who sets goals and doesn’t meet them”, and who could blame you?  Or, you’re wondering why I’m depressing you with my failures.

The thing is, goals are a whole lot easier to forget about if you don’t make yourself accountable for them.  Just thinking about writing this made me drink 2litres of water yesterday.

Plus you have to be honest with yourself and think about whether you are putting the effort in or even want to.  I’m not and I do.

So, I’m not going to tell myself off about it just get on with it and put more effort in to looking after myself better.  After all, I do manage to drink 2litres of fluid if I count cups of tea and I meet my sleep target at the weekend.

If you want something slightly more inspiring to help you achieve your goals in all areas of your life, here is an article about staying on track.

Stay on Track

Right, I’m off to get another glass of cider water before bed.
Ear worm: December 1963, The Four Seasons

